Wow, it’s been a long time!

September 18, 2009 at 2:37 pm (Life gets in the way...) (, , , , , )

Months and months, in fact! And such a lot has happened that I’m just not going to have the time to put it all on here, so I’ll just mention the main ones:

1. As of last week, I am a Stay-At-Home-Mum! Yes, I decided that working part-time just wasn’t working for any of us (Xander started refusing to nap, Dale didn’t get any rest and I got no quality time with Xander at all, even though I was only working afternoons!), so I quit and am now much happier, even if we are completely broke. I’d rather be on a very tight budget and happy than having a tiny bit extra cash and being miserable. It’s true what they say – money can’t buy you happiness! Besides, I figured nobody ever lay on their death bed saying “I wish I’d spent more time working!” did they? No, it’s always, “I wish I’d spent more time with family/friends!” etc. So that’s what I’m doing, at least for a little while. If push comes to shove I can always get an evening job stacking shelves in a local shop, so long as I have my days free to spend with my Little Man.

18.09.09a18.09.09c

These were taken today – doesn’t he look grown up?!

2. Xander will be a year old next week! He’s saying a few words (Mama, Dada, Nana, No) and can sign a few too (drink, yes, no, friend). He also tries to say dog and also his Auntie Leni’s name. His latest trick is cruising round the furniture easily and has taken a few tentative steps (i.e. he launches himself at us) towards me or Dale whilst on the sofa – then when he falls on his bottom, he giggles and applauds himself for being so clever! He’s almost sleeping right through most nights now, although lately he’s been a little more wakeful again due to teething (he has seven teeth through and the eighth one has been giving him some trouble for a couple of weeks now), and is the kissiest, huggiest boy in the world!

So, those are the two main pieces of news. On a more immediate note, I had a bit of a hair disaster today. I attempted to go from being white-blonde to something called chocolate blonde (which is a shade or so darker than Xander’s hair and is as near as dammit to my own natural colour), but it came out purple instead! So I had to don a hat and go out to by a darker dye and came home with French Roast – now I’m a sultry brunette! It’s a lot darker than I had planned, but I rather like it!

purple hair!brunette2

From purple peril to sultry brunette!

5 Comments

  1. Burgundy Haze said,

    lol omg! You look good with the brown too, but I love the purple! It’s different but at the same time subtle and doesn’t scream “look at me!” I love how it blends with the white too. Oh well, I understand that punk probably isn’t your thing. I think you could pull it off well though!

  2. kell1976 said,

    LOL – thanks! πŸ™‚ The purple wouldn’t have been so bad if the colour had gone on evenly, but it had a slightly stripy effect (which you can’t really see onthe photo). Incidentally, the photo doesn’t really do the purple justice – it really was a very violent shade of bluey-purple. I used to have outlandish hair all the time (it was bright scarlet for ages!), but I was aiming for something close to my own natural colour so I wouldn’t have to dye it quite so often…

  3. Sandy said,

    OOO I like the hair! Course, I liked the purple too!

    Doesn’t fly by? This weekend will be our 6th wedding anni…and if Babyhead’s bday had been a month or two sooner he would have started kindergarten this year! OMG!!! Podling is busy walking around and climbing over things..it’s hard to believe the end of the year is almost upon us!

    I put Xander’s give in the mail just today so you should get it soon! I hope he likes it. Podling and Babyhead have one each and they love theirs!

    Isn’t being a SAHM great? Congratz! LOL Not to knock the working moms…but I love being a stay at home mom (most of the time anyway! LOL). I don’t have to worry about him being with someone else…is he ok, does he need me for something…

    Babyhead and I used to do all kinds of things together during the day…now that Podling is older I am looking forward to doing things with the both of them.

  4. Nici said,

    Oh Kell I can’t believe Xander is nearly one! Where has the year gone???!!! He looks so grown up, a proper little man now! πŸ˜€

    Nici x

  5. Sarah said,

    My gods he looks like you!

    You know I have another friend who previously falling pregnant by accident was adamant she didn’t want anything to do with children. She’s also had a complete change of heart since the birth of her boy (my godsson) and has given up work to be with him. It’s lovely, although I do wonder if I’ll be able to. I’d like to, but not sure we can manage just on a teacher’s wage.

    I’m due in April.

Leave a Reply

