Sleep Training…

May 5, 2009 at 3:40 pm (Baby) (, , , , )

Xander playing with one of his toys this afternoon after his nap

Seeing as how I’ve not been able to sleep for more than 2 1/2 hours straight since I was 20 weeks pregnant, we thought it was best to try and sort out Xander’s sleeping patterns and habits. Up till now, he’s only ever fallen asleep if in the buggy, in the car, on the breast or, after breastfeeding, on my shoulder, and that’s not good. We did try to use Elizabeth Pantley’s No Cry Sleep Solution but it categorically DID NOT work for us. I’m sure other people have found it useful, but all it succeeded in doing for us was to get me more and more frustrated and stressed out whilst making not a jot of difference to Xander’s ability to go to sleep by himself.

So we finally accepted defeat and decided to try what I wanted to avoid if at all possible – controlled crying. To do this, we had to move Xander’s cot out of our bedroom and into his nursery, which felt really strange – I’m used to having him sleeping right next to me where I can see him.

It took us a while to actually find information on how, exactly, to go about it, but once we had the know-how, we made a start on Sunday past. Xander got put in his cot on Sunday night and cried for an hour before falling asleep. He then woke half an hour later and cried for another hour before sleeping. He slept till midnight but then wanted to be fed. After breastfeeding, he cried and slept, off and on, all night till about 6am when he went to sleep and stayed that way till 8am (an hour later than I’d meant for him to sleep, but I slept too, and only woke when he was crying again – oops!).

Throughout Monday, we continued the controlled crying for his morning and afternoon naps, at both of which he screamed for an hour then slept for about 10 or 15 minutes total.

Monday night, he clicked halfway through his bath that bedtime was approaching and got very upset! He cried all through his supper and then we put him in his cot at 6.50pm. He cried for exactly two minutes and then fell asleep! He didn’t wake up till 3.55am, whimpered for a couple of minutes and went back to sleep without having a night feed! He then slept till 7am on the dot!

At nap time this morning, I put him in his cot at 9.10am and he cried for 50 minutes (I went in after 40 minutes as per the schedule and had to move him back down his cot and put his blankets over him again as he’d squiggled his way right up!), but then slept for 40 minutes (I had to move the blankets up to cover him as he’d moved again). Not too bad. This afternoon, we put laid him down at 1.15pm and he cried as I was leaving. I went into the kitchen to put the milk I’d expressed into the fridge. When I came out again, he’d stopped crying. I waited 10 minutes just to be sure and then checked on him – he was out like a light! He hadn’t even moved so I didn’t have to move his blankets at all. He slept soundly till 2.55pm.

So, now we just have to see how he does tonight. Fingers crossed that he goes down without too much fuss and sleeps quickly, soundly, and through the night!

P.S. He seems to have forgiven me for leaving him in his own room all alone as after a little coaxing he actually gave me a grin and a kiss. 🙂

1 Comment

  1. Sandy said,

    yay! I know Babyhead would never cry it out. he would cry the whole night…we tried. The only solution for us was to shove our bed next to his and take the rail off so he could touch me. Only after that did we get sleep…and he still wants to get in bed with us at night…but we have managed to get him to say in HIS room in HIS bed until the sun is up…that is the deal. When the sun is up he can get in bed with us.

    Do what you got to do! And he will probably be happier since you may have kept him up too with night time sounds…that is why Podling sleeps in the living room in the pack n play…she kepts us up and we kept her up!

    glad to know things are going well!!!

    *hugs*

Leave a Reply

