Feeding, brushing and Expressing…

April 22, 2009 at 3:09 pm (Baby) (, , , , , )

Xander enjoying his lunch and attempting to feed himself with his spoon!

Xander is really improving on the feeding front! He’ll now happily eat savoury food without me having to pull the old switcheroo and making him think he’s getting a spoonful of pudding! Of course, he still like pudding best of all, with his favourites being egg custard, banana custard and banana chocolate pudding! However, he’ll now eat the two packet-mix savoury meals of cauliflower and broccoli cheese, and Mediterranean vegetables and rice. He won’t touch the savoury jars, though – not that I blame him, as they’re pretty disgusting!

He’ll occasionally agree to have some masshed vegetables that I’ve cooked at home, although he really hates potato and will be heartily sick if it’s even in his mouth – not even swallowed! And he’ll sometimes take a few lumpier things, like a piece of bread with chocolate spread on it, or some garlic bread, or a little bit of chicken or sausage, or some such thing. However, if I give him finger food, he’ll not get any of it into his mouth – he just bashes it off his tray and throws it on the floor, although a bit of cooked carrot will briefly get put into his mouth and pulled out again a few times before the bashing and throwing happens!

Xander will also happily drink from a sippy cup, and although he can hold the cup himself and manoeuvre the spout into his mouth, he hasn’t quite got the hang of tipping it up to drink from it – he needs a hand with that. Mostly, though, he likes to shake it about so that the water comes out of the spout and then he sucks it off the lid!

A good thing is that he seems to really like his toothbrush! When he sees me coming with it after his feeds, he opens his mouth wide and lets me brush his tooth (which is now poking right through his gum a fair bit!). Then, when I give him the brush afterwards, he’ll happily chew on it for a while before banging it off his tray to make a lot of noise!

On top of all this, I’m expressing again. I’ll be returning to work in the middle of June and I need to be able to express breast milk for Xander to have while I’m away. I do have a manual pump, but it’s lost suction and I’m having to hand-express instead. It’s quite a comical sight – me feeding Xander on one breast with a small pot stuck in my bra on the other side to catch the drips when the milk lets down, and then squeezing away while Xander sucks – I feel a bit like I’m a big dairy cow! At the moment, I’m using the milk I express to make up his bedtime cereal. Apparently breast milk has hormones in it that helps babies sleep, so at bedtime he’s now getting a double whammy of those hormones by having them in his cereal AND straight from the breast. Right enough, it does seem to be improving his first stretch of sleep as he’ll now go down for anything up to 3 1/2 hours before waking up, which is amazing! Unfortunately, he still wakes another two to three times throughout the course of the night/early hours of the morning for further feeds, but it’s getting easier now…

And in a couple of days, he’ll be seven months old – where has the time gone to?!

Having his tooth brushed!

1 Comment

  1. Sandy said,

    Hey there! I keep meaning to write a letter…but I only remember when I can’t sit down that minute, then I forget!

    Glad you guys are doing well. Podling has 2 teeth now and likes to gnaw on my thumb. ow! She won’t take a cup though…she would rather chew on the spout…so I am trying to find a way to let her know her milk is in there. We have those spill proof ones, so I think I am going to have to take the valve out so the milk drips free. It would be so nice to have her drink from a cup! Babyhead was already taking cups at this point and by the time he was 10 months was done with bottle feeding…so I am eager to get her to the same thing.

    Anyway, glad things are going well!

Leave a Reply

