Time Flies When You’re Having Fun!

December 4, 2008 at 6:36 pm (Baby) (, , )

1-dec-20081st December 2008

I’ve just realised it’s been weeks since I last blogged – most unlike me! However, it’s because I’ve been run off my feet looking after Xander and getting things ready for the festive season. Anyway, here’s a quick run-down to what’s been going on:

Hen Weekend
My soon-to-be-step-Mum’s hen weekend was at a spa in Dundee, so Leni and I drove down on the Sunday morning (we couldn’t go for the whole weekend) with Xander in tow, as he’s still exclusively breast-fed and won’t take a bottle yet (we’ve tried with expressed breast milk, but he doesn’t seem to like the rubber teats – they’re just not booby!). After driving around a while and waiting for the sat-nav to find us, we found the hotel and had a lovely lunch with the ladies before having some spectacular treatments – a neck, shoulder and back massage, a facial and a manicure. Xander slept all the way down in the car and was very well behaved at the hotel (I had to feed him whilst trying to eat lunch myself – LOL!). Really, he was the star of the show – Stepsie’s friends all wanted to keep him! He then slept all the way home too.

Wedding
The following weekend was my sister, Kirsty’s wedding, so once again we had a long car journey. Leni and I packed ourselves and Xander into her little Punto and headed to Northumberland (Dale was working so he couldn’t make it, which was a shame, but understandable). Xander slept till we hit the Forth Road Bridge, then we pulled into the Crammond Brig pub to feed and change him before setting off again. He then slept the rest of the way there too!

We were staying with Mam and Pappy, but all the family came to visit too as some of them were yet to meet Xander. Fortunately, he’s a very cuddly boy and pretty much took it all in his stride before tiredness hit him. He had a bath in the kitchen sink and dropped off in his carry cot.

The next morning, the blushing bride came round to have me do her makeup and then we all got dressed and ready to go (Xander decided he wanted to be fed JUST at the right time for us setting off!). He slept through the ceremony and photographs and only woke to be fed once we had reached the reception venue! He was then VERY well behaved throughout the meal and dozed off again once we’d finished eating. The photographer took LOADS of pictures of him, so much so that the mothers of the other children who were there started to notice! Still, we could hardly blame Mr. Snap-happy – Xander is such a bonny boy that nobody could resist him! I took him back to Mam and Pappy’s before the disco started so we had a lovely evening just the two of us at the house.

The next day we were heading back north, but unfortunately we hit loads of traffic and road works, so the journey took 7 1/2 hours! We stopped at Kinross to feed and change Xander but later had to pull into a lay by to feed and change him again. We were all exhausted and cranky by the time we got home!

Baby Progress
Xander is still exclusively breast-fed and feeding every 2-3 hours with no set routine as yet, so making plans is very difficult! Once Dale went back to work (when he was 5 weeks old) he started refusing to sleep in his cot so we ended up having to take him into our own bed just so I could get some sleep. The last two nights, however, he’s spent the whole night in his cot as we’ve taken the side off it and pushed it right up against my side of the bed so I can comfort him when he stirs.

He had his first round of immunisations two weeks ago and only cried for a minute after being jabbed before settling down again (with plenty of cuddles from me!).

I took him to get weighed today and he’s now 12lbs 2.5oz! He’s also holding his head up quite steadily now, although when he’s tired he forgets that he knows how too! He’s alert and interested in everything – especially watching Dale and I eat – that fascinates him! And he’s such a giggly, smiley boy most of the time that it’s always something of a surprise when he decides to cry!

Mam and Pappy are coming up to help us celebrate his First Christmas, so I can hardly wait!

3 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    Yay! I was beginning to wonder if something was wrong. I am glad you were just busy! πŸ˜€ The picture is too cute! You will have to post some of those the photographer took!

    I know all about the bed thing. Babyhead was the same way. We had to take the rail off his bed and shove ours against it as well. We slept like that until he was 18 months old and we kinda forced him into his own room with a “big boy bed”! Do what you have to to get sleep! I am lucky with Lily…she sleeps most of the night and is quite content so far in her pack n play in the living room. We can’t have her in our room because she makes too much noise when she sleeps! LOL

    I have your gifts ready to go, DH keeps forgetting to take them to the post office. I do have more pictures up of the professional photos we just had taken on our other website (I think I emailed you the link…it is private so I don’t publish it). Everyone always talks about how beautiful Lily is…maybe we need to get the two together one day! LOL Hey! Maybe one day they would get married! ROFL πŸ˜€ Wouldn’t that be something!

    Glad things are going well! Have a great holiday with the baby in case I don’t hear from you before then. πŸ˜€

  2. Michelle said,

    He is just so cute Kell!

  3. kell1976 said,

    He knows it too!

Leave a Reply

