Good news!

October 8, 2008 at 1:59 pm (Baby) (, , , , , )

Xander happily playing on his playmat yesterday

The midwife came to weigh Xander and I’m pleased to say he now weighs 8lbs 13.5oz, so in two days he’s gained 8.8oz! I’m amazed, but it does go some way towards explaining why Dales arms were so tired holding him for ages this morning!

On top of the spectacular weight gain, we’ve had two very good nights on the trot where Xander goes down to sleep around 11.30-ish and then only wakes to be fed and changed at around 2.30-ish and 6.00-ish and doesn’t really make much noise about it. He also goes back to sleep within about 10-15 minutes of finishing feeding, which is something of a relief as it means I can sleep too and Dale doesn’t get woken through the night (he takes the shift settling Xander down while I get an hour or so of shut-eye before the 11.30 feed).

So, it looks like things are looking up and settling down – it’s such a relief, especially since we were having trouble getting Xander to accept a bottle for the pumped breast milk as had been suggested – it turns out he’s fine without it after all!

Today I have a big, happy face on, despite wearing no make-up at all (one of my very rare make-up free days since Xander was born – I’ve been making the effort to put on just a little slap in order to feel more like “me” each day). And Dale’s happy because I’m happy and Xander is healthy. Good news all round!

7 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    Yay! I was sure he was gonna be ok. 🙂 You have to remember (and it is very difficult to remember when it is your first, I know!) that babies do their own thing. Really. Scares the shit out of us parents, but most of the time they are fine. I often wondered if they do stuff like that just to see us freak out and wonder if they get some kind of perverse pleasure in it…

    I remember when Babyhead was about 3m old or so and I had a hard time with him to get him to eat (sometimes he would go to sleep and I couldn’t wake him up for HOURS!) I looked down and him and said I would make him a deal. I would relax if he would just let me know when he was ready for something (like eating solid food). I have to say that he has kept up his end of the bargain and I can always tell when he is ready for something new (though we are still having some issues with the poop in the potty thing!).

    My point is take a deep breath and realize that he is new to the world…I mean really realize it…his body is figuring out how to work properly and he is in the great big place with only your voice as a familiar comfort. It will slowly change over time, and there will be times when you will just freak out (I will never forget when we “lost” Babyhead!) but for the most part everything will be fine.

    **hugs**

  2. kell1976 said,

    Thanks, Sandy. 🙂

    PS – I’ll be writing a letter shortly – just as soon as I can get 5 minutes to myself where I’m awake and lucid enough to form proper sentences and paragraphs – LOL!

  3. Nici said,

    That’s great news Kell! 🙂

  4. kell1976 said,

    Thanks, Nici – we’re pleased as punch too. I was practically dancing around the living room when the midwife told us his weight!

  5. Michelle said,

    I’m glad to hear that things are going well.. and you’re happy again! 🙂

  6. Sandy said,

    LOL You forget, I just had a baby 3 months ago..I totally understand and am actually surprised you are posting on your blog and commenting! 😀

    I have your gifts, but it might be a week or more before I can send them. We hit a rough money patch the past few weeks and it will cost more than a few stamps to send anything over seas…just know that you WILL get getting something at least before Christmas!

    😀

  7. kell1976 said,

    Aww thanks, Samdy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

