35 weeks in…

August 23, 2008 at 12:59 pm (Baby) (, , , , , , )

Foetus at 35 weeks

Another week, another step closer to Tadpole’s arrival – things are getting exciting here!

Some interesting facts about being 35 weeks pregnant:

  • Tadpole now weighs about 5.25lbs and measures around 18 inches top to toe (so, no gain in length, but getting more “rounded out”)
  • My weight-gain has probably reached its peak now (I’ve gained 27lbs since the start of the year, which is within the average of 25-30lbs gain)
  • My uterus has now expanded to 1000 times its normal size (Oh, my Gods!)
  • At this point, Tadpole has fingernails, has a fully-developed pair of kidneys and his/her liver can now process some waste products
  • There’s very little room for Tad to move about now (which explains why we can feel clearly-defined limbs and, last night, the toes of a tiny foot!)
  • If Tadpole were to be born today, s/he would be considered pre-term, but would have a 98% chance of survival (which is terrific)
  • There are now only 35 days left to our Estimated Due Date

Well, I now only have one more week at work. Officially, my maternity leave doesn’t start till 15 September, but I have two weeks of holiday first, so Friday will be my very last day in the office (and, seeing as how I have Monday off and two appointments, that means a grand total of two full days and two half days of office time!). And only 35 days till our Estimated Due Date – where has the time gone? Things seem to be happening a whole lot more quickly these days.

Tadpole is still as active as ever, squiggling about like crazy and pressing against my bladder every chance s/he gets, but has stayed in the head-down position (as far as I’m aware – doesn’t look like that will change now – thank goodness!). Last night, while I had my hand resting gently on the left side of my bump, I very definitely felt a foot (toes and everything!), and several times this week, we’ve been able to feel the shape of a leg all curled up. It still seems very strange to us to think that there’s an actual real person in there, so when we can make out and recognise specific parts of Tad, it’s really very odd!

I attended a breast feeding workshop yesterday, which was quite interesting. Basically, we were told of various techniques we could use n preparation for feeding and also how to resolve certain problems, so I’m feeling a bit more confident about it now, as I definitely want to at least try breast feeding. I know sometimes it just doesn’t work out, but if I won’t know unless I try!

My Braxton Hicks contractions have definitely started getting stronger too. They’re still not painful, but they can be rather uncomfortable at times and seem to happen at the most inopportune moments. The other night it took me 50 minutes to walk home from work (which, as it’s downhill, usually doesn’t take any longer than 40mintues) as I was getting Braxton hicks all the way home. People passing in cars were looking at me, huffing and puffing down the road, and must have been wondering if I was going into labour! I’ve actually been rather lucky in getting to work over the last week though – of the four days I was in the office, I only had to walk the whole way once, as other people who work in the building have spotted me and given me a lift the rest of the way, which is very kind of them and very much appreciated. I also got a lift home twice when I hit on lucky leaving the same time as people who were heading in the same direction. Apart from that, though, I’m still doing a lot of walking around (which is good for helping Tad get into the right position for coming out, apparently!) as I still walked to and from my antenatal appointment yesterday, and this morning I walked into town to pick up a few things. I still enjoy getting out and about like this, but people look at me like I’m crazy to still be walking everywhere. The way I see it is I’ve always walked everywhere – it’s my main form of exercise, and if it’s not doing any harm to me or Tadpole, then why should I avoid it?

On Monday there’s a National Childbirth Trust sale in town, so we’re thinking of taking a wander down to that to see if there are any bargains we can pick up (Dale has the day off too as it’s a bank holiday). Mostly, though, I think we’re just about ready with all the baby paraphernalia. This weekend I also plan to pack my bag ready for being whisked off to the Midwives’ Unit – I like to be prepared! Really, I’m feeling just about ready to pop, even though I could have anything between two and seven more weeks to go – I feel very tight and packed-full of baby!

We are, however, having one dilemma. A couple of weeks ago, Dale decided he’d gone off the name we’d chosen for a boy and so far we’ve been completely unable to come up with an alternative that we both like. I came up with a list of almost 30 names I loved, but Dale didn’t like any of them and hasn’t come up with any himself. I’ve therefore had to warn him that unless he comes up with something we both like, we’re going to have to stick with the original choice (which I really love anyway!). I figure if he really hates it that much, he’ll come up with the goods. If he’s not al that bothered, then he will be content to stick with the original plan. Fortunately, he still loves the name we’ve chosen for a girl!

This next week will be a very busy one:

Monday – Coffee with a couple of friends, then the MCT sale
Tuesday – My “farewell” lunch at work
Wednesday – TENS class at the Maternity Clinic
Thursday – 36-week midwife appointment
Friday – Last day in the office!

I guess that by Friday I’m really going to be ready for a break before Tadpole comes out!

3 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    Walking is good…it helps prepare your body for labor so if you can do it, then do it! I couldn’t really do a whole lot of anything with Podling…she liked to lay in such a way that my legs were always in agony and I was lucky to get to the bathroom! If I went to the grocery store I would always pay for it ten fold the next day.

    I know all the about the weirdness with having another person inside. DH and I both always thought it was kinda creepy to think that there was a whole thinking and soon to be breathing person in there…brain, bones, blood and all. I know some people don’t think of it like that and actually gave me looks when I would comment I would be a little creeped out if I thought of it too much…but it IS kinda strange!

    As far as the name…maybe you will have a girl and you won’t have to stress over it. 🙂

  2. kell1976 said,

    I know what you man about the weirdness – pre-pregnancy I always thought of a foetus as being the ultimate parasite -a creature living inside you and feeding off your energy and personal body supplies of everything you need to keep healthy. Being pregnant, my idea hasn’t changed a bit – there IS a creature living and growing inside me that sometimes leeches me to the extent that I feel pretty crappy – LOL! Still, I think I’m going to really mis being kicked fromthe inside (however uncomfortable some of those kicks can be at times!).

    And come the end of any given day, my legs are in agony too – you have my sympathy on the pains, Sandy. I have to sit with my feet up at the end of the day otherwise I’d look like I had elephant ankles all the time! I get a fair bit of aching in my pelvic bone too, just from all the stretching and movement as things get ready for labour, but that’s certainly not the most pleasant part of pregnancy! All the aches and pains that people never tell you about until it’s to late… 😉

  3. Sandy said,

    I didn’t remember all those pains with Babyhead…though DH says I did have them. I remember them this time though! LOL

    The good news…you are almost done with this part so the pain is coming to an end. Then you have a whole new adventure ahead of you!

Leave a Reply

