Much respect!

August 4, 2008 at 12:35 pm (News) (, , , , )

I steer well clear of magazines that feature celebrity gossip and don’t tend to read newspapers (which are, nowadays, just turning into celebrity gossip magazines anyway!) – I just can’t stand them, but sometimes it’s impossible to avoid attention-grabbing headlines when you’re browsing online.

Today I found myself inexplicably drawn to a news article on Yahoo about the first official public pictures of the Jolie Pitt twins. Initially, when I started reading, I found myself a little angry on discovering the fee for the pictures was £7.5million from Hello! magazine (which outbid all others, including OK!) because, let’s face it, they don’t exactly need the cash, do they? But then I had to do a very swift turn-around. You see, it seems Brad and Angelina aren’t taking the money – it’s all going to their charity, The Jolie Pitt Foundation, which was set up in 2006 to assist with humanitarian crises around the world.

Sometimes I find myself in total awe of people – and I’m pleased to say this is one of those times.

Kudos to the pair of them – I wish them nothing but happiness with their newly-enlarged family.

2 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    They did the same when Shilo was born. Sold the pictures and then donated the money. I know a lot of people don’t like them and always talk bad about them, but the are some of the few people in the world that actually try to do good things I think (until I am proven otherwise). You don’t see any other celebrities donating that kind of cash to anything…

  2. kell1976 said,

    Very true – I really do think that more celebrities should try to do more good with what they have and set a positive role model for others. I get so sick of hearing about celebs getting drunk or high and getting into trouble with the law – it sets such a bad example to young people who look up to them. Positive role models among popular celebrities seem to be few and far between, but this couple really does seem to want to make a difference and put their money where their mouths are.

Leave a Reply

