Wedding Belles

June 22, 2008 at 8:57 am (Life gets in the way...) (, , , , )

It is said that things happen in threes and that certainly seems to be true of weddings. Personally, I have been a bridesmaid three times (although, in order to beat the “three times a bridesmaid, never a bride” curse, the third time was after my own wedding!), and the year I got married, I attended three weddings (including my own).

Once again, the wedding bells are ringing and over the course of the next year I shall again be attending three weddings!

In November, my step-sister, Kirsty, will be marrying her fiancé, Colin, and I shall be attending with Tadpole in tow (Dale won’t be able to make it on this occasion, as he has no more holidays available due to booking them all around the time that Tadpole is due and they’re getting hitched in Northumberland).

In January, my Dad will be remarrying and Sandra (or “Stepsie” as we call her) will officially become my Step-Mum (and I shall be forever grateful that’s she’s lovely and not a “Wicked Stepmother” type!). Their wedding will be in Braemar immediately after the New Year.

Then, next summer, my very good friend, Kerry, will marry Stuart. I’ve been excitedly listening to all her plans as they’ve been made (weddings are always exciting, aren’t they?) and then yesterday she dropped a bombshell on me – I was asked if I would do a reading at their ceremony!

My flabber has never been so gasted in all my life!

I feel honoured and delighted to have been asked to play a role in their Big Day and, of course, have very happily agreed. Kerry has also said that what I read will be entirely up to me – I can choose something to read by someone else, or I can write something myself!

The thought of the latter quite terrifies me, so I think I’ll be spending time looking for a lovely piece about love, marriage and companionship – something suitably romantic, yet not gushy, and of course, something utterly beautiful. But there is so much to choose from! Will I search through the complete works of Shakespeare and use some of his beautifully penned lines? Or will I go with one of the great romantic poets? Or one of the classic romantic writers? Or should I hunt through more contemporary pieces?

I’m rather thankful I have a year and a vast library to leaf through till I find something perfect – and I shall very much looking forward to reading at the wedding!

4 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    Hi! I can always send you some of th readings we had at our wedding for you to look over. 🙂

  2. kell1976 said,

    I’d LOVE it if you would, Sandy – I’m anxious to find something perfect for them, so the more I can get my hands on to look ove, the better!

  3. Sandy said,

    NP…I will look for the stuff today. 😀

  4. Sandy said,

    Just sent it to your yahoo address. 🙂 Hope it helps!!!

Leave a Reply

