Rude awakening

June 14, 2008 at 8:23 am (Life gets in the way...) (, , , , )

An open letter to the git who disturbed our sleep last night:

Dear Inconsiderate Bastard,

Who on earth did you think you were phoning that made you think it’s alright to call someone at 2.10am? I fully accept that it may have been a case of “wrong number” but that doesn’t excuse you from being so rude as to hang up on me when I picked up the phone and groggily said, “Hello?”  after I was so rudely awoken, nor does it explain why you would be calling someone at stupid-o-clock in the morning.

It’s bad enough that we have our wake-up time dictated to us by the noisy brats who live upstairs and start thumping around as soon as they wake, and worse still that I already have interrupted sleep due to night-time pregnancy peeing, not to mention the fact that my husband has to get up at 3.30am as he’s a postie, but to also have someone call us and disturb our broken sleep even further is just not on.

I don’t care if you were drunk or high – just don’t call people at such an inhospitable hour – the only time that kind of call is acceptable is in an emergency and this was clearly not one.

If I ever find out who you are, I shall make a point of calling you every time my baby wakes crying in the middle of the night and let you hear the wailing. I think that’s the only fair exchange.

I hope, for your sake, that you lose your phone before the baby is born because if it takes after its mother, it’ll have a set of lungs on it beyond compare!

Consider this a sincere warning.
Very tired Kell.

3 Comments

  1. Cheeky bugger! « Life gets in the way… said,

    […] trouble is, this total Chav is obviously a chancer trying to pull a fast one and today, due to my lack of sleep last night, I was in no mood to give my usual “sorry, no” […]

  2. Sandy said,

    ARGH! Don’t you hate that! I have had drunk people call me in the middle of the night saying that they met me (or DH) in a bar and got our number and blah blah blah…we don’t go to bars. We also get a lot of phone calls from people who got our number because someone gave them the wrong number intentionally. I have had people call my cell phone and leave nasty messages because who they are calling isn’t picking up…even though our names are CLEARLY on our voice mail.

    Stupid people suck.

  3. kell1976 said,

    Honestly, I think people should be made to sit some kind of test before they’re allowed to own a mobile phone. I hate those things at the best of times, but when it’s past midnight and someone calls, I just want to scream at them for being so damned rude and inconsiderate! Whenever I hear a phone ringing after about 10pm, I assume the worst and expect it to be a call saying some family member is in a critical condition in the hospital or some such horror. There should be laws against that kind of thing. Grrrrrrr!

Leave a Reply

