Cheeky bugger!

June 14, 2008 at 1:38 pm (Life gets in the way...) (, , , , )

There’s a guy who wanders up and down George Street with a small kid in tow, stopping random passers-by and asking them for a couple of quid to get him and the kid home. The trouble is, this total Chav is obviously a chancer trying to pull a fast one and today, due to my lack of sleep last night, I was in no mood to give my usual “sorry, no” reply…

Today, he had not one, but two little’uns with him when he stopped me:

Chav: Excuse me, love, can you spare me a couple of quid for the bus to get my kids home?

Me: You know what? You stop me nearly every week and my answer is always the same – no, I’m not giving you any money.

Chav: (in a slightly threatening yet defensive manner) Yeah, so? What’s funny about that, then?

Me: (gripping handbag and golfing brolly tightly, just in case!) It’s NOT funny – it’s well dodgy! And it’s SHAMEFUL of you to use your kids that way!

At this, the Chav backed off and looked for someone else to approach. Unfortunately for him, everyone nearby was grinning at my gutsy reproach and one big, burly guy looked ready to step in on my behalf should the Chavmeister decide to try his luck taking me on physically.

I know I shouldn’t have risked such a confrontation (especially whilst carrying Tadpole!) but the guy really pissed me off. It might just be my opinion, but such folks deserve a good smack about the head for such bare-faced cheek!

4 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    LOL Woe be to those who piss off a pregnant woman! Anyway, maybe it was silly to confront him…but at the same time I agree that some people need to be put in their place.

  2. kell1976 said,

    Yes, on reflection, it was a bit risky of me to challenge the guy that way, and I’m very glad there were plenty of other people around. One of these days I’ll learn not to let my mouth run away from me like that!

  3. morgana13 said,

    Good for you. sounds about time someone put him in his place, Im sure your more apt to do it now with the pregnancy good thing all the people where around you or it may have been a dangerous situation.

  4. Karen said,

    Good for you Kell, although I agree it was bit risky.

Leave a Reply

