25 weeks in…

June 14, 2008 at 1:57 pm (Baby) (, , , )

Foetus at 25 weeks

It’s been a particularly busy week at work and, coincidentally, Tadpole seems to have been very busy too – at least, there’s been an awful lot of activity in my tum – some days I’m lucky if I get 5 minutes of peace before the jiggling about starts up again!

Some interesting facts about being 25 weeks pregnant:

  • If Tadpole were to be born today, s/he would have a 50-80% chance of survival (which is pretty good!)
  • Tadpole now weighs about 1.5lbs and measures approximately 13.5 inches from crown to toe (no wonder I’ve been feeling those kicks right round the side!)
  • If I were to shine a light on my belly, Tadpole will turn his/her head (note to self – must try that!) – apparently this shows the optic nerves are functioning already

Sleeping at night is starting to become something of an issue – it seems that no matter which side I lie, Tadpole decides it’s not comfy and kicks like crazy till I move again. Then, when I get up in the middle of the night to pee (which I do several times!) and have to change sides because my shoulder is aching, Tadpole gets all miffed at me and kicks again!

Also, the latest game is rather fun – it used to be lots of kicks till Dale put his hand on my belly and the kicks would suddenly stop. Now it’s all kicking till Dale puts his hand on my belly and then refusing to kick in that spot again and kicking somewhere else instead! No matter where Dale shifts his hands, Tadpole moves and kicks some place else! Of course, the trick is for Dale to then spread out both hands across my bump, which foxes the kid something chronic and he gets to feel a kick after all. We’ve got a tricksy one in there!

8 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    Lol…that’s funny about the kicking. Pebbles has actually slowed down a bit with her kicking though sometimes she does kick me one good and shakes my whole body. Most of the time she just stretches…but I am 37 weeks this week so it is pretty darned cramped in there. The problem is she always puts pressure on this one little spot and it hurts like hell…so I have to go poking at her to make her move…LOL.

    Go ahead and started planning stuff though…the next few weeks will fly by!!

    🙂

  2. Nici said,

    I am so enjoying reading your pregnancy diary. This weeks in particular has made me giggle with all the kicking! 🙂

  3. kell1976 said,

    Sandy – Ooh, it’s so close for you now – I’m so excited for you guys!

    Nici – It’s funny but I never see the humourous bits till I go back and read the posts and then I see just how ridiculous being pregnant really is – LOL! 😉 It’s definitely the strangest thing I’ve ever done and so many odd things are happening to my body right now that it seems absurd at times!

  4. Karen said,

    I’ve got a few weeks of tadpole posts to catch up on, but he/she is certainly a bit of a character.

  5. morgana13 said,

    Kell, when i was pregnant it was impossible to sleep i had one pillow against my back one between my legs. and the doctor told me not to lie on my left side due to crushing something what it is i forgot,, but it caused sleepless nights when i did sleep on my left side. I hope you can find something to help you sleep a little easier.. now that i think about it i took a nap then had late night cravings so went for a drive by the time i got home the baby had stopped kicking. do you have a rocker to rock in the motion calms the babies.

  6. Sandy said,

    Supposed to sleep on your left side NOT your right side because a main vein/artery runs down the right side of your spine that feeds the lower half of your body. However, they say either side is better than your back as if you are directly on your back you are cutting off the blood in the vein/artery. This is why with my first delivery I had an epidural and they had me propped up on my left…but that also caused the epidural to fail on my right side (it is weird feeling contractions on one side and not the other) and ended up with a spinal block.

    However, if you are very pregnant, you can tell if you have been on that vein too long…you start getting light headed and faintly sick until you move…so I never worried about and my doctors have never been concerned either…you feel like you are being slowly crushed so you WANT to sleep on your side!

  7. kell1976 said,

    I’ve got one of those giant pillows, like a big bolster, that I jam between my thighs and bring round the front of me to rest my bump on – it’s the only way I can get even HALF way comfy at night – LOL!

    I tend to switch sides each time I wake up as I get a pain in my shoulders from lying on one side too long – grrr!

    My office chair is a bit rocky and I do tend to sit in it and rock a bit – it’s quite comforting for me, even if Tadpole STILL jiggles about inside.

    I feel like the old woman who swallowed a fly in the nursary rhyme:

    “I know an old lady who swallowed a spider
    That wriggled and jiggled and tickled insider her…”

    😉

  8. morgana13 said,

    i hope it becomes easier to sleep

Leave a Reply

