24 weeks in…

June 7, 2008 at 3:16 pm (Baby) (, , , )

Foetus at 24 weeks

Where is the time whizzing away to? I’m already almost at the end of the second trimester and that seems quite a scary thought to me – suddenly, the day we get to meet Tadpole face to face seems to be looming up so fast! And Tad is making his/her presence ever more obvious, as I really do feel I’m getting quite big now and those kicks are getting stronger every time! Some of them actually make me jump with the force and I’ve been known to give a small yelp of surprise when Tadpole gives me a really good, strong kick unexpectedly!

Some interesting facts about being 24 weeks pregnant:

  • Tadpole now weighs little over 1lb in weight and is just shy of 12 inches long from crown to foot.
  • Tadpole is now officially “viable”. If Tad were to suddenly decide s/he couldn’t wait any longer to be born, there would now be between 40% and 70% chance of survival (a BIG improvement on last week’s 16%) with the proper intensive care.

We went for my 24-week check-up on Thursday and managed to listen to Tadpole’s heartbeat again, but only very briefly because Tad doesn’t like to play fair and squiggles about a lot! I also had my bump measured and my womb-height is now 24cm (which means I’m spot-on for the average for this stage in pregnancy, as there should be an increase of around 1cm for each week of pregnancy). Stretch marks are now starting to become visible (which I don’t exactly like, but I accept as part and parcel of pregnancy), but it feels really, really good to rub cocoa butter cream into them and over my whole belly. And getting Dale to do that seems to calm Tadpole down a bit too (which is nice).

Dale is now regularly getting kicked by The Kid, which always has him grinning, and he’ll now automatically go to sleep with his hand on my ever-increasing bump (although he still tends to giggle when Tad kicks me just as I’m dropping off to sleep! As you might expect, I’m not getting much shut-eye at the moment, with the combination of constant kicking and constant peeing keeping me awake at nights! All this makes for a very sleepy Kell through the day and I’ll often doze off while we’re watching an episode of JAG or NCIS after dinner and I have absolutely no energy in the evenings (actually, I start flagging some time around 3pm and it all goes downhill from there!). However, my mornings are a lot better than they were throughout my first trimester – that’s been steadily improving since the morning sickness stopped, so I aim to do most things in the mornings while I still feel fresh.

And I’m finally accepting that I have to slow down a bit. After arriving at work huffing and puffing a fair old bit a few days ago, I realised I was still making the walk in the same time as I did pre-pregnancy – no wonder I was feeling knackered! The last couple of days, however, I made a conscious effort to walk a little more slowly and added about 5 minutes to my journey time. I feel much better for it too!

5 Comments

  1. morgana13 said,

    HI dear, its been a while. I figured its been so long i should just start a blog here. sounds like your having some exciting times with this pregnancy. glad your slowing down a bit, it will get tougher to walk.
    much love kimberly

  2. kell1976 said,

    Hello there, Kimberley! How lovely to “see” you again. 🙂

  3. morgana13 said,

    hello dear, how are things going? i got your letter sorry its taking me awhile to write back but dont worry ill get to it. the finals are keeping me really busy, and getting my son packed up for his trip. he leaves for germany on thursday

  4. Sandy said,

    Yea…Stretch marks suck. I have a ton of left overs from Babyhead…but this one is making MORE!!! GRR. 🙂 Just cursed with the stretch mark gene I guess. 😛

    Don’t worry, you will eventually get used to the kicks and be able to fall asleep no matter what (unless of course you get kicked in the bladder or lungs) and you will also find that it is totally possible to get up, go pee, and go back to bed all while still half asleep so it doesn’t get too interrupted. 😉

    Hang in there…it will all be worth it in the end. 😀

  5. kell1976 said,

    Kimberley – don’t worry – I’m WAY behind in my correspondence – I’m pretty certani I owe plenty of people letters right now. 😉

    Sandy – I’ve been practically sleep-walking to the loo since the very start. So long as I make sure there’s nothing in my path before I goto bed, I hardly register I got up at all – LOL!

Leave a Reply

