Tagged again…!

June 3, 2008 at 8:07 pm (Memes) (, , , )

I’ve been tagged again – this time by the lovely Nici:

The rules:
Link to the person that tagged you, post the rules somewhere in your meme, answer the Author questions, tag some people in your post, let the tagees know they’ve been chosen by leaving a comment on their blog, let the tagger know your entry is posted.

1. Who is your all-time favourite author, and why?

Terry Pratchett. I accidentally discovered his genius in the summer of 1992 whilst bored on a family holiday in the Lake District. I picked up  two books – one was Jurassic Park by Michael Chrichton (which is excellent, by the way,  and far better than the film), the other was The Carpet People by Terry Pratchett. I was blown away by the story and the style – and immediately vowed to search out all his other work. The Discworld  series really sealed it for me – the man is nothing short of being a God in the writing world! His books never fail to entertain me and there is always some witty link back to something in the “round world”.

2. Who was your first favourite author, and why?  Do you still consider him or her among your favourites?

Astrid Lindgren. I picked up a copy of Ronia, The Robbers Daughter when I was about 10 years old and was transported to a world where the real world collided with another filled with mystery and magic. The characters are wonderful and the writing is enchanting. I read it again last year and was pleased to find it was every bit as wonderful as I remembered – it’s still a 10/10 book and has appeal for readers of all ages.

3. Who’s the most recent addition to your list of favourite authors, and why?

Mario Puzo. I’m currently reading The Godfather and it is already one of my favourite books of the year so far. I came to the film trilogy only over the last couple of years and loved all three movies (masterpieces all!) and the book is even better (something I hadn’t actually thought possible in this case!). I am completely loving this book and will definitely be searching out Puzo’s back catalogue!

4. If someone asked you who your favourite authors were right now, which authors would first pop out of your mouth?  Are there any you’d add on a moment of further reflection?

Straight off, I’d have to list Terry Pratchett, Simon Scarrow, Kelley Armstrong and C S Lewis – those are the ones that jump out of my head immediately. If I think a tiny bit harder (and really, it doesn’t take much to bring these spinning out either!), I’d add Ben Elton, Stuart Macbride, Christopher Brookmyre, Dean Koontz, Stephen King, A A Milne, Kenneth Grahame, Oscar Wilde, Jane Austen, Philippa Gregory, Neil Gaiman and P G Wodehouse. And that’s just a start. I have literally hundreds of favourites who I rate highly for a variety of different reasons and also depending on my mood.

Tagged:

Well, I’m going to leave this as an “open tag” – if you fancy joining in, please do post a link back to your blog entry – I’d love to see your choices!

Leave a Reply

