18 weeks in…

April 26, 2008 at 2:42 pm (Baby) (, , , , , , )

Foetus at 18 weeks

It’s been a busy week – I’ve been running round like a headless chicken (well, not really, but I’ve been doing a lot of to-ing and fro-ing) at work as the office has been going crazy, and Tadpole has been turning somersaults and doing a whole lot more growing too! And now that I’m 18 weeks pregnant (almost half way there!), I’m officially entering my fifth month of pregnancy, which is hard to believe, as it feels like we only found out about our little Lone Ranger five minutes ago!

Some interesting fact about being 18 weeks pregnant:

  • Tadpole is now about 6 inches long from crown to rump and weighs about 7oz (so I guess all the extra weight I’m carrying is due to a massive placenta and an ocean of amniotic fluid!)
  • Whether Tadpole is a girl or a boy, all the “girlie-bits” or “boy-bits” are there now (so if the hospital didn’t have a “don’t ask because we won’t tell” policy, they’d likely be able to tell us the sex already.)
  • Tadpole can now feel and hear (although (s)he won’t hear much but my heartbeat and my grumbling tummy when I’m starving – which I am all the time these days)

Things that have happened this week:

  • I’ve discovered an inconsistency in the general public – people are  more than willing to give up their seat on a bus to a pregnant woman, but not their place on the bench at the bus stop. How strange!
  • Little old ladies have started smiling and nodding at me in a very knowing way (which makes me feel slightly uncomfortable, as if they’re saying, “I know what you did to get pregnant, you dirty minx!”)
  • According to a friend at work, I now always look like I’m smiling on the inside, even when I’m not smiling on the outside. When I asked what that meant, they replied, “It’s like you know a special secret, even though it’s obvious nowadays what your ‘secret’ is – you’ve got a twinkle in your eyes.” I guess that’s a pretty lovely thing to say, really.
  • Tadpole seems to have quite a regular little routine – a fair old bit of activity off anf on throughout the day, but mostly quite quiet at night. According to my colleague who recently returned from maternity leave, if they do that in the womb, they’re more likely to have a similar routine once they’ve come out, which is nice to know!
  • Pregnant women are public property. Complete strangers will ask for  details of your pregnancy whilst you queue for a changing room or the toilet. They all want to know your due date, whether or not you had morning sickness, and if you can feel the baby moving yet. People who would usually never dream of talking to you, or even noticing your existance, suddenly find you the most interesting person ni the vicinity! It’s very strange.
  • You can never have too much Indian food.

I put in that last comment because although I find it very easy to get “Chinesed out” if I have Chinese food several times over a short period, I could quite happily eat Indian food every night of the week and never get sick of it! I actually had Indian food the last three nights running (balti, dahl, madras, laal, rogan josh – you name it, I’ll eat it!) and would quite happily have it again tonight, but we’re going out to a Chinese restaurant tonight with family. Not that I won’t eat the food – it’s particularly good – but a couple of weeks back, I had Chinese three nights on the trot, and was heartily sickened of the stuff, so I’d much rather go somewhere else, really – perhaps for a nice streak with pepper sauce, or perhaps a curry…). I’ve not had proper craving for any one food, but I guess the closest ones would be that I like cheese a lot and love the spiciest Indian food I can get in my hungry little mouth. And yes, I’m always hungry now.

Fortunately, I’ll be able to combat putting on too much weight, as my new DVDs arrived today – Pilates in Pregnancy and Yoga for Pregnancy. Yes, I know they’re not exactly fat-burning  cardio-vascular workouts, but they’ll help me keep (OK, get) toned and maintain (oh alright, kick-start and improve) my flexibility, both of which have got to be good, not only to help keep me healthy through my pregnancy, but also to help me get through the birth. Apparently both of these can improve your stamina too, which can only be a good thing when you hear of a normal labour lasting anywhere between six and thirty-six hours – that’s a marathon and a half! And best still, they both appear to include workouts for after birth too, which will help me get back into shape – preferably a better shape than I was to begin with!

2 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    Yoga does help. I did yoga up until month 6 or 7 with Babyhead only because my back was killing me! LOL But, it does help keep you limber and raises your stamina as well as help get you in the habit of deep breathing techniques. I haven’t done any this time around only because of other issues I have had.

    Don’t stress so much about the weight either. As long as you are eating healthy and not eat ginormous amounts of food you should be ok. Just the baby aspect will make you gain 20lbs…and any other weight will go towards providing calories in your milk if you breastfeed…some people have been known to lose weight to below they pre-pregnancy weight when they breastfeed!!

    Anyway, congrats on the almost halfway mark!

  2. kell1976 said,

    Lower than pre-pregnancy weight? That’s EXACTLY what I’m after – hurrah! I was already planning on breast feeding (if possible) and I know there are health benefits for both baby and mum, but the weightloss would be a definite major bonus! Glad to hear the yoga is a good move. I’ve heard positive things about Pilates too, so I wanted togive them both a try. They both look like nice,gentle ways to get in better shape – I’m determined to be a Yummy Mummy!

Leave a Reply

