Make a difference – we are what we do

April 23, 2008 at 7:17 pm (Life gets in the way...) (, , , )

I was wandering around the internet and perusing a few blogs, which led to me reading other blogs, and still others (isn’t it funny how you end up somewhere you’ve never been before, reading something that inspires you?). I wish I could remember which blog led me to it so I could thank them and leave a link, but in clicking on something on that last blog, I was taken to a wonderful site that gives you prompts to do little things that can make a big change in your life – and the lives of those around you…

So I ended up registering and making a list of things I would pledge to do. From the 100 actions given, I chose 28 for myself and here they are:

  1. Decline plastic bags wherever possible
  2. Read a story with a child
  3. Fit at least one energy-saving lighbulb
  4. Smile and smile back
  5. Take public transport when you can
  6. Plant a tree
  7. Have a bath with someone you love
  8. Turn your thermostat down by 1ΒΊ
  9. Get fitter, feel better
  10. Register on-line as an organ donor
  11. Learn to be friendly in another language
  12. Turn off unnecessary lights
  13. Use a mug, not a plastic cup
  14. Turn off the tap whilst you brush your teeth
  15. Recycle your books
  16. Buy fairly traded products
  17. Shop locally
  18. Grow something with a child
  19. Recycle waste paper
  20. Enjoy a Fairtrade brew
  21. Practice good manners
  22. Shut down your computer properly
  23. Practice good mobile phone manners
  24. Lose the plastic cup
  25. Leave work on time at least once a week
  26. Smile when you answer the phone
  27. Take the stairs
  28. Say thanks

The theory is that each time I complete these tasks, I tick them off at the website which tracks them all. When everyone ticks off their actions, you can see what a huge difference is being made each and every day. The simplest action can have the biggest impact – just a smile to someone as you pass them can help lift their mood and then they do the same to someone else – it’s a knock-on effect.

Now I challenge all of you to do the same thing. Go on, nip along to the website for We Are What We Do and make your own list. Make a difference yourself!

And if you’re interested in keeping up with how I get on, you can see my own check list HERE.

5 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    Yep…even small changes you make can change the world. I have been trying to make people understand that for a long time! Changing your perception of things and just doing small things that seem insignificant can make a big deal in someone else’s (and YOUR life). That is actually at the heart of Buddhist teaching!

  2. kell1976 said,

    I know what you mean, Sandy. I’ve always been an advocate for small changes myself, but sometimes we just need to remind ourselves and ge fired up about it all over again. πŸ˜‰

  3. Nici said,

    What an excellent idea Kell! Even better that I have done a lot of your list alreadt! πŸ™‚

    I am a huge believer in the little changes….

  4. kell1976 said,

    I can tick off a bunch of them myself today. πŸ™‚

  5. Karen said,

    What a fantastic idea and although I already do a number of those on the list, I may go and sign myself up for this challenge.

Leave a Reply

