17 weeks in…

April 19, 2008 at 9:55 am (Baby) (, , , , )

Foetus at 17 weeks

The weeks just seem to be flying past nowadays! Here we are, almost half-way through pregnancy when it seems like we only found out about Tadpole a few minutes ago – it’s been ten weeks already – can you believe it?

My belly is now definitely more noticeable than ever before, although I still feel that I just look a bit tubby rather than properly pregnant – not everything has fully rounded out just yet (although, hopefully that will happen over the course of the next few weeks!). I saw several people this week who I hadn’t seen in quite a while, so they most certainly noticed the difference and commented on it – mostly along the lines of “You look so much brighter – more yourself again!”, or “You’ve got that glow about you.”, or “Wow! Look at your belly!” It was nice catching up with them too.

Some interesting facts about being 17 weeks pregnant:

  • Tadpole is now about 5.5 inches from crown to rump and weighs about 5oz (which, on the size side of things, explains why I’m  feeling a little bit “stretched” already!)
  • Using a special instrument, you can now hear the foetal heartbeat (which we heard last week at my 16-week appointment, and it was wonderful)
  • If this is a first pregnancy, the mother should now begin to feel the first fluttering movements (so Tadpole is a fast learner and quick to pick up on a good thing, as I’ve been feeling those flutters for a little while and got a good proper kick the other night – albeit a very small one!)

Things that have happened this week:

  • We felt a small kick from the outside for the first time. It was a very small one, but Dale definitely felt it. The kid must have lanky legs, but then I thought that at the 12-week  that turned out to be 13-week scan, and both Dale and I have long legs, so Tad is probably inheriting those.
  • I’ve realised that Indian food really is my absolute favourite and would probably eat it almost every night given the chance. I’m not sure if it counts as a proper craving, as i don’t need it right away in the middle of the night or anything like that, but anything spicy is good.
  • I’ve started really missing pepperoni. I was told by my midwife to avoid deli meats – including pepperoni – even when it’s been cooked as on a pizza.  Lately, I’ve found myself eyeing up the Pepperamis in the shops and wishing I could just sink my teeth into one of the fiery-hot ones. I also miss my home-made chickpea and chorizo soup.
  • My nails are looking fabulous – really strong and long – and they’re not snapping off like they usually do once they get to this length (thank you, Tadpole!).
  • The only comfortable way to sleep is with a giant sleep support pillow jammed between my thighs and hugging the top end of it tightly to keep it close against my belly.
  • Sleeping with a giant support pillow jammed between my thighs and hugging it tightly gives me very naughty dreams!
  • My sister-in-law has discovered she is also pregnant. She’s ten weeks behind me, so we’ll have our babies very close in age. Unfortunately, she lives in Edinburgh, so we won’t get to see as much of her and the baby as we’d like to, but it’ll be nice for Tadpole to have a cousin so close in age.

And now that the Spring-like weather has finally decided to put in an appearance (although, whether or not it deigns to hang around is another question entirely), I’ve decided to start shopping for some summery clothes that will fit over bump but not make me look “matronly” or frumpy. Cue lots of swirly gypsy skirts and maxi dresses made with crinkly material that will stretch over my ever-growing bump. Of course, in order to ensure I don’t look like I’m wearing a tent, I shall have to get some pretty ethnic-looking belts to put round my hips (under bump, see) and pull things in a bit. I have decided that 99% of maternity clothes look frumpy no matter what they are or where you get them – it’s just the nature of the clothes, I’m afraid. So, my attempt to combat that is to avoid them as much as possible and just get ordinary clothes that will fit over the bump. I’ve never been so glad that empire-line tops are in fashion!

2 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    I know all about the clothes. 😦 I like to wear shorts and T-Shirts in the summer and most of the shirts I have found are either outrageously expensive (for something I am only going to wear a few months) or sooo outdated they look like they are from the 50s. Why can’t I just buy a regular ole t-shirt??

    Pants are actually east…one secret among pregnant women is to use a rubber band and loop it around your button and through the button hole…they even make belly bands that cover that part up so you don’t see! I don’t know how far along you are so I am not sure if that will work.

    Elastic is also your best friend…as you get bigger the harder your belly gets and you can’t get away with something that is a little snug or it will cut into your belly.

    For a while you can just buy bigger clothes, just get a few sizes bigger (that’s what I did with Babyhead)…but you will need to buy some maternity stuff (especially pants/skirts) eventually. With Babyhead I just wore over sized sweatpants and huge tshirts…I didn’t need anything else (and I am not that into fashion anyway!). This time I was actually able to wear my old clothes up until a week ago (My belly got big but I never gained weight…until last week I was able to button my old pants). I have officially moved to maternity pants/shorts, which is nice since it is finally warm outside!

    ps I replied to your letter…but I realized after I mailed it that my thoughts were all over the place. I apologize if you get confused reading it! LOL Mommy Brain is a killer.

  2. kell1976 said,

    I know exactly what you mean about mummy brain – my Mam calls is Mumnesia! I can'[t concentrate for more than a couple of minutes at a time and even THAT is difficult – LOL! It took me about 3/4 of an hour to write this post when something that length would have taken about 5 minutes pre-pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

