Happiness is…

April 14, 2008 at 7:05 pm (Life gets in the way...) (, , , , , )

… getting a great bargain or stuff for free. At least, it is if you’re a woman. Someone once said there’s no such thing as a free lunch, but lunch is lunch and quality facial care is another thing completely!

I decided it was finally time to stop using soap and water (was that a gasp of horror I heard from Iiris there? I’m sure she’ll be shocked at my lack of a proper cleansing routine!) and invest in some quality beauty products to get my skin in good order.

When I got pregnant, I immediately began suffering some of the worst breakouts I’ve had since, well, since I hit puberty (so, I was about eleven). I don’t actually remember a single day since that time when I’ve had completely clear skin – there has always been one stubborn blemish left to mar the canvas, no matter what – and since I’ve now reached the grand old age of (please, turn away now and don’t read the number I’m about to type) 31 (did you turn away? I bet you didn’t!) I’ve started worrying a bit about the inevitable fine lines and wrinkles. And since I’m going to be a Mum soon, I don’t especially want people to mistake me for Tadpole’s grandmother when I’m out and about!

So, I went along to Debenhams and spoke to a very nice lady who told me those little lines that had recently appeared weren’t fine lines and wrinkles at all – they were down to my skin being a little dehydrated! “O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!” I chortled in my joy*.

After a good quarter of an hour with my New Best Friend, I had an entire counter-full of products lined up before me and I was now becoming a little scared at the possible cost of ail these goodies. I desperately wanted at least four things – the cleanser, the clarifying lotion, the moisturiser and the exfoliator – but it was going to cost a pretty penny and I wasn’t sure I could convince Dale that it was worth it.

But then, my New Best Friend became my Best Friend Ever when she told me that two of the products were actually included in the free gift I would get for buying just two products, along with a whole host of other goodies. I was elated! Now, instead of just four products, I would be getting:

  • Cleanser
  • Clarifying lotion (I always just thought it was called toner)
  • Exfoliator
  • Moisturiser
  • Night Cream
  • Eye Cream
  • Eye makeup remover
  • Blusher
  • Blusher Brush
  • Lipstick
  • Mascara

The total value of all these wondrous goodies is well over £100 and I was only spending £29 – pretty nifty, eh? And considering I had been seriously contemplating a spend of approximately £75 for the basic products, a pretty hefty saving! There was no way Dale could complain when I put it to him like that!

So, tonight, I shall relax in my bath tub and start my new cleansing routine, and hopefully my skin will finally have a chance to become beautiful.

And on top of all that, I’ve been eyeing up some mineral makeup that’s supposed to make your skin look fantastic (with excellent coverage – exactly what I need at the moment) whilst not stressing the skin in the way that those nasty chemical-filled makeups do. There’s a starter kit for about £30 that has everything I’ll need to get me going. All I have to do is convince Dale it’s all for his benefit – after all, I want to look gorgeous for him.

Vanity, thy name is not just Woman – it is Kell!

* For those of you who don’t recognise it, I just paraphrased a line from Jabberwocky, a poem included in Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There by Lewis Carroll. It’s my favourite poem of all time and the only one I’ve ever memorised.

5 Comments

  1. Nici said,

    Brilliant Kell! I love a bargain!

    Funnily enough over the past couple of days I have been thinking of upgrading my beauty regime as well, maybe I will pop over to Debenhams as well! 🙂

  2. Sandy said,

    LOL The key to good skin is plenty of water and good cleansers and moisturizers.

    And don’t worry…chances are even if you didn’t buy that stuff your skin would have cleared up soon. It is all because of hormones. 🙂

  3. ii said,

    oooh, there’s so much I have to say…

    First off, Sandy has a point. It’s the hormones. (bullet no. 347 in the list “why ii will never have kids”)

    Second, you didn’t just spend £29. Not at all! In truth, you didn’t spend at all, you SAVED! You saved a total of app. £60! So not only should Dale not complain, he should thank you! (you’re no longer wondering why on BF’s phane my number is under the name “crazy lady”, do you?)

    Third, Nici, I think it’s a spring thing. All this spring cleaning and all… many people I know do a total detox in the spring.

    Fourth, Kell, don’t be surprised if at first it actually seems like your skin is getting worse. It’s very common. It’s just your skin adapting to the new stuff you’re putting on.

    Fifth, it wasn’t a gasp. It was a cry. Still, how pathetically predictable of me.

  4. kell1976 said,

    Nici – I was recommended to try either Clinique or Este Lauder. In the end I went for Clinique ecause the system seemed simpler and quicker as well as cheaper. And the products are all fragrence-free and hypoallergenic, which is a bonus for sensitive skin. 🙂

    Sandy – Yes, I know that pregnancy has caused a mass breakout in my skin, but really, i’ve had terrible skin my entire adult life. 😦 However, I now hope to unveil a new, more gorgeous, blemish-free me in the very near future. And certainly one that has a better chance of looking younger for longer. 😉

    Iiris – You are SO right – I DID save all that money! Well spotted. Abd on the “never having kids” thing, wel, I was the QUEEN of Never and look at me now! It’s amazing how a surprise likee that can change things very quickly. Still, I think I can safely say Never Again – LOL!

  5. ii said,

    Argh! no offence, and not to belittle either your earlier conviction or your current excitement over Tadpole, but I get so sick and tired of hearing the “oooh, but you’ll come around, I used to think that too!” line. I know people change their minds, and/or life gets in the way, and everything, but when people go “oh, but when you meet the perfect guy you’ll change your mind” and so on I just want to scream. I HAVE the perfect guy. The one person in the world I’d do anything for. Except get married and have a boatload of kids. In fact, I’m so sure I’m never ever going to change my mind, that I’m seriously thinking of getting my tubes tied. That would solve it, once and for all.

    I love kids, I adore babies. I just want to be able to give them back to their parents in the end. I’m really looking forward to my friends getting kids so I can become the Auntie-ii that’ll give them ice cream for breakfast and tell them it’s okay to stay in your PJ’s the whole day and that Pop-Tarts are a wholesome lunch, and just generally spoil them rotten.

Leave a Reply

