Happy Together…

March 31, 2008 at 5:55 am (Life gets in the way...) (, , )

The Kiss by Rodin

The Kiss by Rodin

Today marks eight years since Dale and I first got together. Eight years since our first date and our first kiss (although we swapped phone numbers and started texting and calling each other a week before that).

We actually met about two years prior to getting together. We were both seeing other people so, despite feeling a great attraction, neither one of us did anything about it (having both been cheated on in the past, we knew how despicable a betrayal that would be of our partners). Shortly after that first meeting, I moved to a different town for a year and a half and, on returning, started dating an old boyfriend, but it really wasn’t  going anywhere at all – that didn’t last long.

My sister mentioned she had seen Dale working in FAS and, as I was looking for a new pair of trousers and they sold the ones I was after, I thought I’d go along, get some trousers and say “hi” at the same time. Completely out of character for Dale, he asked for my phone number and gave me his. He sent half a dozen texts and then called  me to ask if I’d like to go out for lunch the following weekend. Of course, I said yes!

We went for a very nice lunch at Lauders (a bar which is, sadly, no more!) and got on so well that we decided to go out that evening for a few drinks. That was that. We were together from then on.

A month later we decided to start looking for a flat together and a month after that we moved in. Many people thought we were moving too fast but we just knew it was the right thing for us and went ahead anyway. A year and a half later, I proposed (on his birthday) and eleven months after that we got married. The rest is history!

The last eight years have been the happiest of my life – and I have Dale to thank for that. Soon we’ll be three (when Tadpole arrives later this year).

I just wanted to say, happy anniversary, honey – I love you.

4 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    Aww…Happy anniversary guys. 🙂

  2. Karen said,

    Happy Anniversary!

  3. Nici said,

    Aw Kell, what a lovely story. Happy Anniversary!

  4. Sarah said,

    Happy Anniversary! That sounds like a wonderful, storybook courtship. My BF and I are celebrating 10 years together this year.

Leave a Reply

