11 weeks in…

March 13, 2008 at 8:35 pm (Baby, Life gets in the way...) (, , )

11 weeks pregnant

Foetus at 11 weeks

Well, here we are, I’m officially eleven weeks into my pregnancy. Still getting some sickness (though nowhere near as much or a bad) and loads of tiredness. Actually, as of last Tuesday, I thought I had the nausea licked – since switching to eating little and often (on Jan’s say-so), I had been feeling heaps better (although still a little sickness in late evenings, but I put that down to being tired more than anything), but this Tuesday I felt dismal all day and missed my evening class for the second week running. A bit of a shame, as I now haven’t a clue what I’m doing in that class and don’t feel I have the energy or concentration to get going with it again. I swear, if I had paid the fees myself, I would have dropped the class, but as my employers are paying, I just don’t feel I can do that.

Anyway, Tuesday I felt absolutely horrid. I was just about to leave for work when the nausea hit. It subsided after about 15 minutes, so I thought I’d get some fresh air (read, “walk to work”!). Well, I got there in one piece, but spent the whole day feeling dire and left at 4pm. Once home, I totally crashed out and did not get up again till about 6pm. So, no class that night!

Since then, I’ve been back on top of things (mostly), but the tiredness is getting, well, tired now – I’m sick of feeling exhausted. I keep waiting for this fabled “burst of energy” that I should expect at any time between 12 and 16 weeks. I’m hoping that it’s not some colossal in-joke that mothers tell pregnant women and then laugh to each other, “Ha-ha! She thinks she’s going to get that energy burst, but in reality she’s going to feel like a lethargic lump the whole way through – what a hoot!”

So, interesting facts about being 11 weeks pregnant:

  • The baby is now approximately 1.5 inches from crown to rump (so how come my belly has grown way more than that already?).
  • The baby is now kicking and stretching (although I won’t feel anything for a few more weeks yet).
  • The baby now has all its parts (they just have to grow and mature for the next 29 weeks or so).

Things I’m now beginning to consider:

  • Hiring or buying a TENS machine (apparently they’re a great help with labour pains).
  • Asking whether our local maternity unit has a birthing pool (I’m not sure I want an actual water birth, but again, it apparently helps a great deal with the pain).
  • Birthing balls too (apparently they really help take the pressure off and help the baby get into the right position for an easier labour).
  • Pain relief (do I want an epidural? I think I’d prefer to go as natural as possible, but I’m not so naive that I don’t know that could change in an instant once the labour starts, and I may well start screaming for them to pump me full of drugs!).

So, that’s me now heading into my twelfth week – almost at the end of the first trimester already!

Now, I can hardly wait for this “blooming” phase to start!

8 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    hehe. I know your pain!!! With Aidan I was that tired too. If you remember I was going to Tech School at the time and had 3 night classes a week. I had to leave many of my classes early because I would fall asleep driving home! I also fell asleep in class many many times. My instructor laughed at me because he knew I would get my work done anyway…but I would fall asleep at the drop of a hat.

    If your pregnancy goes anything like mine did with Aidan…it WILL pass…though it won’t be a wake up one morning and feel better…it may be more gradual.

    As far as labor concerns…never rule out meds completely as you never know what is going to happen…however if you focus on what you are doing and breathe and meditate you should be ok. I posted some movies on my blog from a midwife who talks about that stuff…things I wish I had known with Aidan (useless to me now since I am going to have another csection but could have helped me then when I tried to labor it out!).

    Don’t go in thinking OMG it’s gonna hurt! Because, well, it may not. The more you tense up from being scared or anxious the more it will hurt. I have to say from my experience it wasn’t too bad at all…yet people were telling me right up until I was admitted how bad it was going to be. I have to say that the entire time I was waiting for it to be that bad…and it never really was. A friend of mine also slept through 90% of her labor and didn’t realize she was in labor until she woke up early the next morning and her water had broke!

    Besides, by that time you will be ready for baby to be born and not really care! LOL

  2. kell1976 said,

    Surprisingly enough, the birth isn’t what I’m so much worried about (despite the fact that it used to be an ieda that scared the wiggins out of me!). I’m quite prepared that it’ll probably hurt a fair bit, but I’m also pretty sure that, despite being a total wuss about most things, this is something I will be able to handle because at the end of it I’ll get tomeet our baby. Isn’t that strange? I’m not completely ruling out any pain meds, as I know that things could change very quickly, but I’ve done a lot of meditation techniques and I tend to “breathe through” my nausea when it comes over me in waves. In fact, breath control is how I tend to control ANY pain or discomfort I have, or if I’m feeling ill. It helps keep me focussed, relaxes me, and makes me feel better.

    The thing I’m most worried about is how I’m going tohandle being a Mum – THAT’S the scariest part for me at the moment. I’m not sure anyone is ever completely prepared for their first child…

  3. Jen said,

    No one is prepared for their first child. You know how everyone smile patronizingly and tells you “Oh you’ll do fine. You’re a natural!”
    Nope.
    Books help. “What To Expect When You’re Expecting” is awesome for pregnancy and the following two books “WTE The First Year” and “WTE The Toddler Years” has been invaluable.
    Plus late night phone calls to the pediatrician.
    You’ll be fine. You’re a natural.
    LOL.

  4. kell1976 said,

    LOL – Jen! Thatnks for that, it gave me a giggle.

    Natural? Moi? That has be rolling on the floor!

    Teeheehee. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Sandy said,

    OMG I HATED What To Expect books!! It was more like “scare the shit of you when you are expecting”. I actually preferred the book I bought my hubs…I think it was called “The Expectant Father”. That was a good book. ๐Ÿ™‚ It didn’t go too much into too many things that may or may not go wrong and didn’t get patronizing over what diet a pregnant woman should eat.

    First time moms (and dads) are all scared. There are so many questions that go through your mind…will I be a good mom? Can I deal with late night feedings? What do i do if they are sick? What do I do if I am sick? What do I do if…. Everyone feels that way…and everyone manages in one way or another. Hell, I am nervous about how I am going to manage a toddler AND a newborn! LOL

    Just remember, babies cry. A lot. It has no bearing on you as a mom. None. If your baby is crying it doesn’t mean you did anything wrong…it can mean a lot of other things…but not that you are doing anything wrong.

    Also remember…women have done it before you (obviously or we wouldn’t be here!) and women will do it after you. ๐Ÿ™‚ It will all be good.

  6. kell1976 said,

    I’ve just got The Best Friends Guide to Pregnancy and so far I really love the way it’s written – plenty of humour to keep you going and make you realise that you are NORMAL, even when you’re getting emotional and wailing because there’s not enough milk left for your cup of tea or, if you’re me, because Chelsea are playing a match in their hideous yellow kit – bleaurgh!, or that you can’t stand to be touched because even moving around normally causes your clothes to rub against your skin and makes your boobs agonisingly sore, or because you feel sick ALL DAY LONG instead of just in the morning and you’re not actually throwing up, but “just” dry-heaving.

    It’s great.

  7. Sandy said,

    OH…that last comment reminded me…as far as your boobs go (that should get better soon btw) you may start leaking milk at some point (I started leaking at 15w with Aidan and 14w this time around)…(I apologize there is no good way to put this) your N*pples might get sore (think of diaper rash being wet all the time). Get you some breast pads (they make disposable and reusable/washable) and some Lansinoh ointment (I am assuming it is sold there, if not ask your midwife what else you can use) and wear those during the day. The breastpads keep milk from seeping through your clothes (obviously) and the ointment keeps the moisture away and keeps them conditioned so they don’t get too dry and sore. Also, try not to wash them with soap to often…that will dry them out too.

    Both were a lifesaver for me…there were times I was in tears my boobs hurt so bad and be cracked and bleeding before I could get to the store and buy both products!

    I am trying to think of all the things I had to learn the hard way that no one told me! LOL

  8. kell1976 said,

    Excellent – I shall get hold of them in readiness. I was a Girl Guide in my youth – always prepared!

Leave a Reply

