Ladies Wot Lunch

January 19, 2008 at 5:09 pm (Life gets in the way...) (, , )

chatty-girls.jpg

It’s always nice to get together with friends, but sometimes it’s even nicer to catch up with someone with whom you lost touch. That’s exactly what I’ve been doing today.

About 2 1/2 years ago, I left a job I hated to go to my current job (where I am much happier), but before I left, I trained up my replacement, Kerry. Kerry and I got on like a house on fire (mass destruction and lots of people running around, screaming! Only kidding!) and for a little while after I left, we  stayed in touch.

Inevitably, though, life got in the way and things just fell by the wayside. However, just before Christmas, we got back in touch with each other quite by accident! I found an old message on my Friends Reunited page from Kerry (I don’t visit it any more, so I was surprised to get an email saying I had a message – as it was, the message was two years old). It was an odd message saying that she couldn’t remember why we had fallen out, but she would love to catch up. I was puzzled, I couldn’t remember falling out with her and got in touch to say so. It turned out, the message had been meant for someone else – we had never fallen out, we had just fallen out of touch!

Anyway, as a result of this, Kerry suggested meeting up for a coffee in the New Year. I very happily agreed, but, I’m ashamed to admit, I didn’t actually expect anything to happen, as so many people say they’d like to get together, but then never bother. However, Kerry did get back in touch and suggested we meet up for lunch today, which we did.

So, at 12  noon today, I was waiting outside Soul on Union Street (sitting at one of the tables with my book, as I was, as usual, early), when Kerry arrived looking as wonderful as she ever did (she has the most gorgeous auburn hair!). We went inside, got some drinks, and then had to turn the waitress away three times as we’d been talking so much we hadn’t even looked at the menu!

Eventually, we ordered and carried on catching up with all that had happened in the more-than-two-years since we had last seen each other. Before we knew it, it was 4-o-clock, and we’d hardly paused to draw breath!

Now I’m home again and feeling very happy at having got back in touch with an old friend, and knowing that I now I have a new friend – we’ll certainly be getting together again in the future.

Perhaps we won’t leave it so long next time!

2 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    I do this every so often with old friends, but it usually ends with just that lunch, and maybe another one a few months later. I’ve been so bad at keeping up with my friendships! Most of my close friends have moved out of state…even the “occasional lunch” friends. I’m happy for you, though…there’s nothing better than reconnecting with a friend!

  2. Wedding Belles « Life gets in the way… said,

    […] next summer, my very good friend, Kerry, will marry Stuart. I’ve been excitedly listening to all her plans as they’ve been made […]

Leave a comment