Pushed for time…

November 28, 2007 at 10:28 pm (Life gets in the way...) (, , , )

Clock face

It’s  that time of year again when, once again, I feel constantly pushed for time. All the rushing around involved with seasonal shopping just heightens the sense of frenzy that takes hold of me as December inches ever closer…

Is it just me, or has this year apparently whizzed past faster than a whizzy thing on speed? It seems like it was New Year just five minutes ago and now, all of a sudden, we’re hurtling towards another New Year. Of course, before that we have to survive various winter festivals.

Personally, I’m not all that bothered about Christmas. Nowadays it’s turned into a commercial holiday rather than a religious one. Now, before I go any further, I’d like to remind folks that I am not, in any way, shape or form, a Christian, nor any denomination of the Christian faith – I am, in fact, a Pagan, and have been for more than half my life. My preference would be to have a quiet celebration of the Winter Solstice (Yule), which falls a few days before Christmas on the shortest day of the light. My family, however, although the majority of them are not religious, go  for Christmas with a vengeance! My Mam, in particular, turns into an overgrown five-year-old and as the days on the chocolate advent calendar are opened, she becomes more wide-eyed and excited till she’s almost squealing come Christmas Eve!

Dale has this year turned into a bit of a Humbug and was all for cancelling Christmas, till I pointed out just how impossible that would be, seeing as how we’re related to my mother, so he’s relented and has, at last, requested we get in a turkey crown for the Big Day (as last year’s one turned out smashing!).

This will be only our second Christmas by ourselves (last year was the first) and we’re looking forward to being able to doss around in our dressing gowns till we feel like getting dressed (if at all!) and eating when we feel hungry, rather than running on someone else’s schedule.

Anyway, Christmas itself isn’t the only thing that’s looming – it’s all the preparation and the associate gatherings, as well as the numerous occasions on which one is expected to stuff one’s self with festive feasts that mount up! This is how my own countdown month is looking at the moment:

All gifts for family members and friends not living in Aberdeen must be bought and wrapped by the evening of 13 December, as my sister and I are doing the Santa Run on the morning of 14 December. But it’s not as simple as that – where is the time to actually get those gifts?

Friday 30 November – Driving to Braemar to have lunch with Dad and Stepsie.
Saturday 1 December – One day of shopping for Christmas gifts.
Sunday 2 December – Presence required at filming of VT segment, as I am the reserve for a team going on a TV quiz show.
Monday 3 December – Getting hair cut and dyed. Small amount of shopping time.
Tuesday 4 December – Work at office all day, followed by evening class.
Wednesday 5 December – Work all day in office. Dale starts working night shift.*
Thursday 6 December – Work all day in office, followed by Posh Club Christmas Meal. Dale working night shift.*
Friday 7 December – Work all day in office. Dale working night shift.*
Saturday 8 December – Coffee with the girls. Small amount of shopping time.
Sunday 9 December – Only day Dale and I are off work together – spend much needed time with hubby!
Monday 10 December – Work all day in office.
Tuesday 11 December – Work all day in office, followed by evening class.
Wedneday 12 December – Work all day in office. Team Christmas Lunch. Dale working night shift.*
Thursday 13 December – Work all day in office. Boss taking us out for dinner. Dale working night shift.*
Friday 14 December – Travel to Edinburgh to visit Rod and Doogie. Possibly see a show. Dale working night shift.*
Saturday 15 December – Travel to Northumberland. Stay with Mam and Pappy. Meet Daddy and Uncle Caz in evening.
Sunday 16 December – Small amount of shopping time for presents required for Aberdeen friends and family.
Monday 17 December – Travel back to Aberdeen.
Tuesday 18 December – Work all day in office, followed by evening class.
Wednesday 19 December – Work all day in office. Dale working night shift.*
Thursday 20 December – Work all day in office. Dale working night shift.*
Friday 21 December – Work all day in office. Dale working night shift.*
Saturday 22 December – Last minute shopping for groceries and gifts.
Sunday 23 December – Last minute last minute shopping for things I forgot to get on Saturday.
Monday 24 December – Day off work to make sure I really do have everything.
Tuesday 25 December – Open gifts. Cook big dinner. Collapse on sofa with jeans unbuttoned. Clean up mess.
Wednesday 26 December – Have nervous breakdown.
Thursday 27 December – Work all day in the office.
Friday 28 December – Work all day in the office.
Saturday 29 December – Go to bed and refuse to come out till January 3!

And then there’s no more time! That’s it! That’s my lot! Not only that, but at some point between Tuesday 18 and Monday 24, I will have to squeeze in a time to see my sister and her hubby, and also my Dad and Stepsie, to exchange gifts and just generally spend time together, as we won’t see each other on Christmas Day. Add to that the fact that I haven’t yet written my cards and I will have to find time to wrap all the gifts I still need to buy, and also the fact that I actually get lots of homework from my evening class, I don’t seem to have a second to  myself!

* Note: While Dale is on night shift, I will be all by myself. I cannot sleep when I am all by myself, as I’m used to having another person there (i.e. Dale), and so I can expect to get maybe 2 or 3 hours per night if I’m lucky. Oh, what fun! 

2 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    As far as gifts…buy them early…like November1st. We did that with Babyhead and now 99% of our shopping is done. Just a giftcard here and there and we are set.

    I can’t help with visiting anyone around the holidays…but if you can get everyone that lives close together to meet at one place that would be helpful. I don’t know if we are going to go visiting this year as we feel that Babyhead should be able to sit and home and play with his toys as long as possible before going to Christmas dinner with the ILs. The silly part is there is usually someone fighting with someone else so no one will show up at the same place at the same time and insist we come to visit them without realize how much of a burden that is on us (with one child and next year it will be 2 children!).

    With the sleeping along…put an extra blanket on your bed to make up for the warmth and get a big pillow. Helps a little. 😉

  2. Jen said,

    Irritating when that work thing gets in the way of the rest of your life, eh? Man, you’re busier than I am!!!
    Hang in there and take care.

Leave a Reply

