Now and Then (or How Things Have Changed!)

November 23, 2007 at 6:17 pm (Memes) (, , , )

Change

Every now and then, it’s good to have a good think about things and clear out all the clutter – many people do this early each year and call it Spring Cleaning. Occasionally it’s good to do that to your head too, taking a good look at how things used to be and how they’ve changed – how I’ve changed over the years. In order to make this exercise productive, I tend to focus mainly on positive things, rather than negative, although I’m a great believer that negatives can be turned into positives, depending on how you look at them!

Anyway, there are some of the things that are different about me, and my life, since I’ve grown up. Well, maybe not grown up as such, but since I became an adult… and if you decide to take a look at your past and present, let me know – I’d be interested in reading the results!

My three best friends as a child:
1. Louise Wilson
2. Julie Merryweather
3. Claire Hagleburg

My three best friends as an adult:
1. Dale (hubby)
2. Leni (sister)
3. Rod (gay best friend – every girl should have one!)

My three favourite books as a child:
1. The Tale of Two Bad Mice by Beatrix Potter (a gift from my Dad when I was two years old)
2. Wizwam and Kelley Under the Sea (one of those books where you’re the star in the story)
3. The Magician’s Nephew by C S Lewis (the first in The Chronicles of Narnia)

My three favourite books as an adult:
1. The Princess Bride by William Goldman (I still love fairytales!)
2. The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis (with the exception of The Horse and His Boy)
3. The Stand by Stephen King (post-apocalyptic perfection)

My three favourite films as a child:
1. The Neverending Story (I read the book and loved it too)
2. The Goonies (The first film I saw in the cinema without adults supervising us!)
3. Dracula (All the Hammer House of Horror Dracula films – I adored them!)

My three favourite films as an adult:
1. His Girl Friday (There’s nothing like a great screwball comedy)
2. Arsenic and Old Lace (I just adore Carey Grant)
3. Harvey (I love James Stewart too)

My three favourite TV shows as a child:
1. The Adventure Game (space adventure game show with a “talking” plant)
2. Doctor Who (Tom Baker is still “my” Doctor)
3. Bagpuss (I loved him much more than Emily did!)

My three favourite TV shows as an adult:
1. Desperate Housewives (what’s not to like about the women of Wisteria Lane?)
2. Firefly (cowboy-pirates in space – why do my favourites always get cancelled?)
3. Farscape (another epic space adventure that sadly got cancelled)

My three favourite pastimes as a child:
1. Reading
2. Dancing
3. Writing

My three favourite pastimes as an adult:
1. Reading
2. Writing
3. Watching old films

Three jobs I “wanted to do when I grew up” as a child:
1. Ballet Dancer
2. Actor
3. RAF Fighter Pilot

Three jobs I have had as an adult:
1. Actor
2. Bouncer
3. Cinema Manager

Three habits I had as a child:
1. Correcting peoples’ grammar
2. Asking “why?” all the time
3. Chewing my fingernails down to the quick – till my fingers bled!

Three habits I have as an adult:
1. Correcting peoples’ grammar, spelling and punctuation
2. Asking “why?” all the time (I have to have the reasons behind things – I can’t just blindly do them!)
3. Being “blonde” if I think it’ll get me out of bother or get someone to do something for me that I’d rather not do myself

Three people I admired (and why) as a child:
1. Wayne Sleep – I adored ballet and would have loved to have had the chance to dance with him!
2. Adam Ant – My first proper crush! He was handsome and famous and he dressed as a Dandy Highwayman – he could have been my Prince Charming any day!
3. Christopher Lee – Arguably a bit of an odd hero for a small child, but I really did love those Hammer Horror films!

Three people I admire (and why) as an adult:
1. Eddie Izzard – He’s so clever and witty with a mind that seems to take the simplest of things and make them completely absurd.
2. J. K. Rowling – She’s written a very successful series of books and has reached thousands of children who never really read for enjoyment before they read the Harry Potter books. She’s also been very savvy and made a mint!
3. My Dad – He’s a hero in a very quiet and unassuming way and is always there for me, no matter what. Yes, I’m a bit of a Daddy’s Girl, but that’s beside the point.

Three things people said about me as a child:
1. That I was very, very good (which was true).
2. That I was very clever (which was also true).
3. That I was very outgoing and sociable (which was kind of true – I sought approval from everybody and so would entertain on demand).

Three things people say about me as an adult:
1. That a read a LOT of books and seem to get through them very quickly.
2. That I’m generally a happy, smiling, friendly person.
3. That I crack on with things, even if I don’t enjoy the task – I like to get things done!

Three accomplishments of which I was proud as a child:
1. My collection of medals and certificates from various dance competitions (ballet, tap and national dance) was a major source of pride.
2. Getting good marks in my classes, especially in English and Drama.
3. My ability to calm a situation down quickly between my friends when they were quarrelling

Three accomplishments of which I am proud as an adult:
1. Living alone – I only did it for a short while, but if I ever needed to do it again, I know I can.
2. Learning to commit – I danced around and avoided commitment until I met the right person. It took a while for me to be comfortable with committing to one person for the rest of my life, but I can honestly say I’ve never been happier.
3. Being able to admit when I’m wrong and apologise as soon afterwards as possible.

Three things I’ve learned that I would tell my young self if I could go back in time:
1. That it doesn’t matter how many friends you have – only that the ones you have are good ones.
2. That sometimes the things you think you desperately want aren’t what you want when you get them, but not to be disappointed – learn from it and move on.

3. That it’s OK to not be perfect all the time – cut yourself some slack occasionally – people won’t like you any less for it and your family will still love you.

3 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    I loved reading your post! I think that everyone should take stock of their life and see how much they’ve changed. Maybe you should post something like this up on the BCF?

  2. fadi420 said,

    Great reading. Life can be a bummer sometimes..but if you think positive things will change …http://fatdir.info

  3. kell1976 said,

    Thanks for your comments Sarah. 🙂

Leave a Reply

