Sushi for beginners

November 7, 2007 at 3:06 pm (Life gets in the way...) (, , , )

Sushi for beginners

I can be quite fussy when it comes to food, but over the last ten years or so, I’ve become increasingly adventurous about the foodstuffs I’ll try (as part of my 50 things to do before I’m 50 I even tried kangaroo, ostrich and crocodile) and every now and then I’ll suddenly get a hankering to try something new and a little bit interesting.

Today was such a day.

I had nipped to our local Co-op to pick up a few things and was drawn to the refrigerated cabinet while looking  for something to tempt me for lunch. And there it was. Sushi.

Now, I’ve considered trying sushi before, but have never got round to it in the past, as the thought of putting raw fish in my mouth makes me feel physically sick, but I was in luck on this occasion – I’d happened upon  a pack of vegetarian sushi!

It was only a small, snack-sized pack,  so I thought I’d give it a try…

Within the nicely-presented clear plastic pack were seven individual pieces –  2 thin sushi rice rolls filled with cucumber and wrapped in noni (seaweed); two with red pepper; and two with yellow pepper. The seventh piece was something called tamago (Japanese omelette on a finger-shaped portion of rice) wrapped with noni. There was also a small, fish-shaped container of soy sauce, which I squirted onto my lunch.

I started with the cucumber-filled pieces, followed by the red pepper, then the yellow pepper, and was pleasantly surprised – these were quite tasty! The texture of the rice was slightly sticky and stodgy, but it tasted  light and fresh – this was something I could see myself getting used to! I finished with the tamago, which to my surprise, really did taste quite sweet, but in a strangely savoury way – it was nothing short of delicious!

I think I shall be having sushi again in the very near future and can see it becoming a regular part of my diet – I shall have to learn to make some of the more popular vegetarian sushi pieces for myself.

And of course, me being me,  I ate the whole lot with chopsticks. Well, if you’re going to try something new, you might as well do  it in style!

Leave a Reply

