A Touch of Class…

October 31, 2007 at 5:06 pm (Life gets in the way...) (, , , )

Teeline alphabet

After hounding the Chief for quite some time about the lack of internal training in shorthand, a colleague and I were told that if we looked into going to an evening class, the Council would pay for us to attend. So we did check it out, and discovered that the local college was going to run a nine-month evening class starting 29 October.

So, of course, we signed up, along with two colleagues from the Communications department, and last night we attended our first class.

I was a little nervous. After all, I graduated from college eleven years ago and haven’t taken any courses since (although I considered studying journalism five years ago, but it all fell through*), so I’m out of the habit of purposely learning something and committing myself, long-term, to study.

There are about 25 students all together and although most of the first class was induction and getting settled in, we did go over some of the theory behind how Teeline works and covered the first half of the alphabet. To my surprise, I actually understood the theory behind they shapes, and found I could apply it well from the get-go. Not only that, but my heart sang when the lecturer said that some of Teeline is based on phonetics!**

Before leaving, we were given a small amount of homework, which, in my enthusiasm, I have already completed, so now all I have to do is practice reading and writing the first half of the Teeline alphabet for twenty minutes each day (Dale will help me with this by the cunning use of flash cards) and I’ll be all set for next week’s class.

So, if I’m going to be missing the Posh Club meets for nine months***, at least it looks like I’ll be spending the time doing something both worthwhile and interesting.  In the meantime, I’ve ordered my text books and they will hopefully arrive by next Tuesday…

* Dale was up for promotion and if he’d got it we would have been moving to Edinburgh or St. Andrews, as well as him getting a significant payrise and a very nice relocation package. Unfortunately, the company went bust, fortunately before we moved, and I never did get to go back and study again. Maybe at some point in the future…

** As part of my HND in Theatre Skills and Drama, I studied phonetics. I was particularly good at it (myself and two others equally got the highest marks in the whole class) and enjoyed it immensely. Although I have forgotten almost all of it now,  I hope t will all come back to me again pretty quickly if and when needed. 

*** I’ll actually be able to make it to the March meeting after all, as it falls during the holidays. Hurrah! 

1 Comment

  1. Jen said,

    This sounds like an interesting class! Glad you’re enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

