Hard-hearted Harry-writer sues religious festival organisers for hogging Hogwarts

October 11, 2007 at 8:21 pm (Books and Authors, News) (, , , )

Hogwarts

I’m all for ownership of intellectual property, but when Britain’s richest writer tries to sue the organisers of a religious event for copyright breach because they’ve built a marquee that looks like Hogwarts, I think it’s a bit much. I could understand it if they were reproducing the books on the cheap to sell on to kids and keep the cash, but they’re not – they’re holding a religious event.

From personal memory, I can remember the books giving a general description of the castle, but I do not recall, at any point, seeing schematics within the pages that gave an exact representation of the now-famous school of young witches and wizards. In fact, the only place I’ve seen that is in the films…

… Which brings me to the point – surely the only people who are eligible to sue are the producers of the box-office hits? Do I hear them crying out for compensation? No, I do not – I only hear about J. k. Rowling and her publisher, Bloomsbury, demanding 2 million rupees ($50,000), which the organisers of the event cannot afford to pay. They say they don’t know what to do.

Here’s a bit of free advice to those organisers – rearrange a couple of towers and battlements and call it Warthogs instead. Next time, ask people if they mind you using their idea well in advance of your jamboree, and make sure they’re someone who might be a bit sympathetic to your cause.

And tell that money-grabbing Rowling to stuff it – she’s not exactly strapped for cash.

(Note – I didn’t use a picture of Hogwarts in case I got sued!)

Read the full story HERE.

Leave a Reply

