Pitter Patter

February 8, 2008 at 9:39 pm (Baby, Life gets in the way...) (, , , )

I’m not sure how many people actually visit and read my blog, but if you do, you may have noticed I’ve been missing in action for a couple of weeks now. This is because I’ve been incredibly tired and sick during that time.

Fear not, however! It turns out there’s a very good reason I’ve been feeling this way – it turns out I’m  pregnant!

Yes, the woman who said, “Never, no never” (as did hubby!), has had to have a very quick turn-around of ideas, as it looks like we’ll be expecting a tiny bundle of noise some time around the end of September (if our calculations aren’t completely off). Needless to say, the news came as something of a shock and a surprise to us. As Mr and Mrs DINK (Double income, No Kids), we had no plans to change that at any point in the future, but since discovering our impending Mini Me (or Mini Him), we’ve had to start preparing for a  complete change in lifestyle.

Already,  we’re enjoying our “Office” while we can, before it has to be converted into a Nursery and we have to find another place to  put our computers, and we’re having to look at ways to rearrange our finances to prepare for the fact that I’ll be taking a minimum of a six-month break from work, followed by my returning part time for at least 6 months before going full-time again (possibly even longer – who knows?!). I can already see my reading time cut to shreds and my restless nights turning into sleepless ones (at least hubby will also have to contend with that!). All the many choices to be taken into consideration – to breast feed or not to breast feed, and for how long? (We’re going to give that a try and see how it goes.) Real nappies or disposables? (Environmentally, I like the idea of real nappies, but also the convenience of disposables.)

All this is before I’m even through my first trimester!  At the moment I’m shattered and battling constant low-grade nausea with bouts of utter sickness you wouldn’t believe the amount of ginger I’m nibbling just to make that bearable!). And of course, my mother has already started buying things…

Oh, what a palaver! A new baby! Who’d have thought it, eh?

Baby Feet

8 Comments

  1. Naomi said,

    Wow!

    Congratulations… and good luck with getting your heads around the change, it can be hard even when you’ve been trying for a baby.

  2. Sandy said,

    OMG congratulations! We can be pregnant together! LOL I thought you guys were pretty dead set against having kids! 🙂

    Either way, don’t stress too much about anything. It will all fall into place the way it is supposed to happen. As far as morning sickness…sniff some vinegar (or even drink pickle juice if you can stand it). I have had a bottle of vinegar in my bathroom for the past few weeks just for that purpose! And dill pickels and ice cream were my best friends for a looong time. It should pass soon!

    Go ahead and give Breastfeeding a shot…but don’t get down on yourself if you don’t want to do it anymore. Some women can and some can’t. 🙂 I couldn’t with Aidan…but I am going to give it another shot with this one.

    Just be warned…you will be on the most intense roller coaster ride of your life from now on! 😀

    ~V

  3. Sarah said,

    I am so happy for you! I’ve been waiting to see you announce this on your blog. You are going to be a terrific mom!

  4. kell1976 said,

    Thank you. Despite the fact that this was completely unexpected, we’re starting to look forward to the idea a bit now. It starting to get quite exciting, even if it is totally terrifying!

    Sandy – yes, we WERE totally set against having any, but when we were landed with a little surprise despite our best efforts, we thought that perhaps it was jist meant to happen. I’ve never like pickles though, and at the moment, the very smell of icecream makes me want to retch (I can’t eat cake either at the moment – such a bummer!). And as you’re a few months ahead of me on your 2nd pregnancy, I’m hoping you’ll give me all kinds of tips and advice!

  5. Michelle said,

    Kell, I’ve already said it all.. but congratulations once again! 🙂 Things will be fine.. there is lots of info on the internet now, especially about things such as disposable nappies. The best advice I can give you is to listen to, and read the advice, digest it.. then listen to your own voice, and do what makes you happy! I have a feeling your instincts will be spot on!

  6. Sandy said,

    You know…I was really REALLY sick the first few weeks and everyone (even the dr) told me to eat the usual crackers/toast/etc. I hated the smell of any kind of bread product…too yeasty! LOL So I totally understand the food aversion. BUT I have to say that you may be able and willing to eat things you weren’t able to before…and vice versa. Stick with what you can eat, drink plenty of fluids and take vitamines if you can (I couldn’t take the prenatals this time around) and make sure you get protein however you can. Baby will take what it needs from your own stores (that is why women gain weight during pregnancy!!) except for protein…you have to make sure to put that back in your body. And folic acid…if you can’t take prenatals make sure you get a good multivitiamin with lots of folic acid…this is the time when baby would need it the most (it helps protect against neural tube defects). My dr told me to take 2 Flintstone vitamins…though I am not sure if you can get those in Auberdeen!

    And you know…it must have been meant to be. 🙂

    I will be writing you soon though! I just have to find the time to sit down and write! Don’t worry…I am sure I will be writing and sending you things on a regular basis in fa few months. 😀

    **hugs**

  7. If you are pregnant or thinking of having kids… « It’s An Insane World Out There said,

    […] a few people I know pregnant or trying to get that way I wanted to post these videos.  I actually forget where I came across […]

  8. Nici said,

    Once again Kell, many many congratulations! What an exciting time for you and Dale! : )

Leave a comment